MICA Honors Members of the Legacy Society and Mount Royal Society

Mount Royal Society

MICA recognized a group of philanthropists who have had a significant impact on the College at a May 17 event hosted by President Samuel Hoi and the Board of Trustees.

Dozens of donors were celebrated for the many ways their generosity and leadership positively impacts students, art and design, and creative culture in Baltimore.

Honorees inducted into the MICA Legacy Society were recognized for cumulative gifts of $1,000,000 or more. Donors who have arranged their estate plans to include MICA were honored through the Mount Royal Society.

Legacy Society

The MICA Legacy Society was established in 2014 by President Emeritus Fred Lazarus to recognize donors who have made transformational gifts to the College. This year, MICA extended membership to the Blaustein Philanthropic Group, Philip E. and Carole R. Ratcliffe Foundation, T. Rowe Price Foundation and an anonymous donor.

  • The Blaustein Philanthropic Group has helped MICA thrive with Baltimore, through grants for community-facing campus development, the Jacob and Hilda Blaustein Foundation M.F.A. in Community Arts Fellowship, and other educational opportunity initiatives that position artists and designers at the forefront of social impact.
  • The Philip E. and Carole R. Ratcliffe Foundation recognized the power of creatives-as-entrepreneurs and generously invested in entrepreneurial education programs at MICA. Through this philanthropic partnership, the UP/Start Venture Competition and MICApreneurship initiative were born.
  • Dedicated to supporting and enhancing community life, the T. Rowe Price Foundation has extended grants for cutting-edge facilities, innovative programs, and inspired partnerships at MICA, like the Baltimore Creatives Acceleration Network (BCAN) and the MICA Grassroots DesignFest.

As MICA's most prestigious donor recognition society, the Legacy Society has helped MICA grow to be among the world's go-to higher education destinations to study art, design and art education.

Mount Royal Society

The Mount Royal Society was established by the Board of Trustees in 2002 to acknowledge and thank benefactors whose gifts through wills, bequest intentions, or other planned gifts ensure MICA fulfills its mission to make the world we imagine.

Distinguished members of the Mount Royal Society who were in attendance were honored at the event by Gwen Davidson, Chair of the Board of Trustees and Legacy/Mount Royal Society member, including:

Dolores M. Andrew '82
Gale L. Bell '66
Cynthia J. '74 & Sidney Brower
Karen Lee Carroll
Corliss Cavalieri '81
Betty Cooke '46, H'14, W'50
Rosalee C. '60 & Richard S. Davison
Douglas L. Frost
Ann M. Garfinkle & Joseph L. Brent
Anne R. Gossett W'57
Fredye W. Gross P'16
David Hayden '66
Wendy M. Jachman '73
Ethel Kessler '71
Philip W. Lambdin
Robert L. Lienhardt
Jennifer M. Littleton '94
Allegra Marquart
Neil A. Meyerhoff H'17
Thomas W. Miller '70
Anne S. Perkins
David B. Ross
Robert A. Zimmerman '66

"Through their dedication, planning, and foresight, Legacy Society members have elevated MICA to the same company of their closest family and friends," said Davidson.

MICA encourages donors to share the news of an estate commitment or other planned gift so the impact of the contribution may be celebrated. For more information, click here.

Explore other ways to give back to MICA here and share your passion for art and design.