Faculty Announced as 2023 Sondheim Finalists

Abigail Lucien and Kyrae Dawaun are among a trio of finalists for the Sondheim Art Prize

Two members of MICA’s faculty — Abigail Lucien and Kyrae Dawaun — are among a trio of finalists for the 19th annual Janet & Walter Sondheim Art Prize. Lucien, who teaches sculpture, is a Haitian-American interdisciplinary artist working in sculpture, literature, and time-based media. They were named to the 2021 Forbes 30 Under 30 list, and is a recipient of a 2021 VMFA Fellowship and 2020 Harpo Emerging Artist Fellowship. Dawaun, who teaches in the First Year Experience program, has been invited to work, reside, and exhibit in Los Angeles, Italy, Toronto, and Berlin. He is a Hamiltonian Artists Fellow and recipient of a 2017 DC Commission on Arts and Humanities Fellowship and 2016 Denbo Fellowship at Pyramid Atlantic Art Center.

The winner of this year’s Sondheim Art Prize will gain $30,000, while the two other finalists will be awarded residences — a residency at Civitella Ranieri in Italy and at the Bromo Seltzer Arts Tower in Baltimore.

For more information, continue reading on BmoreArt.