Staff Empowerment Council

Meet the SEC Leadership

MICA's Staff Empowerment Council is made up of an Executive Committee and various committee chairs. Below are the SEC Leaders and Committee Chairs. Our meetings are open to anyone Director-level and below who wants to learn more about who we are, what we do, and how we can help you as a member of MICA's staff.

Who We Are

Sarah Barnes (she/her), Chair

Fabrications Studios Manager for Safety and Risk Management, Academic Affairs. Sarah has been working at MICA since 1994. She has 3 cats, 2 dogs and a huge garden. She is an avid quilter and part of the MICA Quilt Raffle group.

Karol Martinez-Doane (they/them), Secretary

Director, Center for Student Engagement. Karol is starting their 16th year working at MICA. They have 2 amazing kiddos (7 and 9 years old). Also, they love Disney World!

Julia Clouser (she/her), Communications

Graduate Admission Counselor, Graduate Admission

Jon Lipitz, Member-at-Large

Director, Office of Events

Steve Wolf (he/him), Outreach & Engagement

Administrative Assistant, Student Counseling Center

Ann Walsh, Grants & Professional Development

Studio Manager, Lazarus Center Wood Shop & Rinehart Sculpture Studio

Natovian McLeod, Shared Governance

Director of Youth and Community Education, Open Studies

Connect with us

SEC Across Campus

Members of the SEC serve on committees across MICA's campus, including the DEIG Accountability Monitoring Group, the HUB Strategic Planning Committee, and the Great Colleges Steering Committee.