The Postcard Project 2023

Over the summer, new students were invited to participate in the annual Postcard Project. This exhibition celebrates the new incoming class as they participate in their very first MICA show on campus! Students were able to create artwork based on one of three prompts:

  1.  Show us the social or political change that you’re fighting for!
  2. Invent a mascot for MICA
  3. What is home? 

Additionally, members of the Undergraduate Admission Team have also included pieces of their own work in the gallery space, in a separate exhibition titled "Meet Your Admission Counselor". These collected works from the MICA undergraduate admission staff is a companion exhibition to The Postcard Project that highlights the connection between the student and their counselor. Both exhibitions are on view through September 11, 2023 in Main O gallery, located in the Photography Department on the bottom floor of Main Building."

View a selection of detailed shots from the exhibitions: 

The Postcard Project

1 of 7
1 of 3

Participating Artists: 

Aarya Motghare Abagail Carlin Andrew Zhao
Ángela Blanco Ruiz Anna Rossi Askala Sanjua
George Aymi Aytkazina Beatrice Cressler Beril Bayrakdar
Braxton Wheeler Caleb Whims Carrie Snowden
Cayden Jenkins Chase Johnson Claire Nguyen
Clara Scott Dara Gopal Defne Küçükahmetler
Eddie Groer Edison Hale Elizabeth Chavarria
Emily Wagner Emma Plunkert Gregory Glozman
Hailey Johnson Hannah Roberts Hyun Ihm
Irene Choe Izzy Cysne Jaclyn Malizia
Jacqueline Wilson James Willson Jessica Ma
Jet Rohde Jonah Lubnevsky Jone’t Fofana
Joy Yang Joyin Yue Yin Junze Cai
Kaean Khan Kalen Chowdhury Kalen Emanuelli
Karyme Ayala Kirk Prudenciano Laila Williams
Madison Lehman Maya Ivory Melisa Uygur
Michael Mclean Moer Yang Mugdha Nath
Munjila Mojlish Nate O’Hara Noah Boyarsky
Norah Swartz Olive Revis Olivia Morelli
Phoenix Matthews Riley Lettington Sara Hussain
Sarah Alban Sheryl Lee Sierra Sklar
Sieun Ahn Sirui Wu Somya Daga
Tatiana Mulero-Sanchez Tea Dramlic Teju Akinbobola
Tyler Hardy Vivi Sun Yiqi Cao
Yuxin Qian Zina Bucinskas-Bichell Zita Allen

Participating Staff:

Kenneth Yee Undergraduate Admission
Lauren Watters Undergraduate Admission
Beth Whitsel Undergraduate Admission
Rheagen King Undergraduate Admission
Robert Reese Undergraduate Admission
Alexa Johnson Undergraduate Admission
Anthony Snowden Undergraduate Admission
Matthew Smith Undergraduate Admission
Sophia Belkin Undergraduate Admission
Summer Howard Undergraduate Admission
Jane Yoon Undergraduate Admission