facebook pixel

Students, staff & faculty can login to access personalized content.

Parent & Guardian Access is located here.

Please enter your login info

Forgot your password?

[Skip to Content]

Maryland State Arts Council Recognizes MICA Community Members

Twenty-seven artists from MICA community receive Individual Arts Award

Posted 03.27.13 by mica communications

The Maryland State Arts Council has recognized 87 Maryland writers, artists and performers for their artist excellence, 27 of which are members of the MICA community. Artists working in the field of painting, fiction, media/digital/ electronic arts; solo theatrical performances; and works on paper were awarded Individual Artist Awards, which consists of grants ranging from $1,000-$6,000 to advance his or her artistic careers.

The 2013 Maryland State Arts Council Individual Artist Award recipients with MICA connections are:

James Adkins '84 (Art Education)
Katie Miller '07 '11 (painting, Hoffberger School of Painting)
Zachary Thornton '01 (general fine arts)
Mequitta Ahuja, Artist-in-Residence (2011-2012)
Jordan Anne Kasey '07 (painting)
Carol Miller Frost '86 (Mount Royal)
Mark Karnes, drawing and painting departments faculty
Glen Kessler '98 (painting)
Erin Raedeke '03(painting)
Luis Flores '80 (Art Education)
Warren Linn, illustration and foundation departments faculty
Ann Rentschler '94 (Mount Royal)
Jim Doran, faculty
Aaron McIntosh, Fiber Department faculty
Beverly Ress '83 (Rinehart School of Sculpture)
Alyssa Marie Dennis '03 (general fine arts)
John Herndon '95 (Mount Royal)
Gary Kachadourian '79 (general fine arts)
Sam Shea '10 ( fiber)
Jason Corace, Interaction, Design & Art faculty
Robert Rackleff '09 (Mount Royal)
Lotfy Nathan '09 (painting)
Joyce Yu-Jean Lee '10 (Mount Royal)
John Andrew McNeil '11 (Photographic & Electronic Media)
Carrie Fucile '04 (Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Fine Art)
Ryan Hoover '06 (Mount Royal) interdisciplinary sculpture and environmental design departments faculty
Bill Schmidt '71 (Hoffberger School of Painting), Director of the Post-Baccalaureate Certificate
Billy Friebele'08 (Studio Art)