facebook pixel

Students, staff & faculty can login to access personalized content.

Parent & Guardian Access is located here.

Please enter your login info

Forgot your password?

[Skip to Content]

Maryland State Arts Council Honors Members From MICA Community

The 2012 Grants range from $1,000 to $6,000

Posted 03.19.12 by MICA Communications

Recently, 22 members of MICA's community received the 2012 Individual Artist Awards from the Maryland State Arts Council. These grants range from $1,000 to $6,000 in the categories of non-classical music composition, non-classical music solo performance, playwriting, visual arts: crafts and visual arts: photography.

For the visual arts: crafts category, the grant recipients were Fiber chair Piper Shepard, Ceramics chair David East, faculty members Sebastian Vincent Martorana '08, Richard Cleaver '77 , Stephanie Garmey, Susie Brandt, Shana Kroiz and April Christina Wood, and alumnae Nancy Smeltzer '78 and Wendy McAllister '06.

For the visual arts: photography category, the grant recipients were faculty members Heather Boaz '03, Neil Jones '10 and Ginny Perkins, alumni Jill Fannon '04, Geoffrey Lawrence '03 '04, Christopher Myers '94, Jim Burger '82, Helen Glazer '78, James Louis Singewald '10 and Gary Thompson '90, and former student and staff member Dan Schlapbach.

For a complete list of all the grant recipients, visit the MSAC website.