facebook pixel

Students, staff & faculty can login to access personalized content.

Parent & Guardian Access is located here.

Please enter your login info

Forgot your password?

[Skip to Content]

MICA Community Well-Represented in Sondheim Finalists, Semifinalists

$25,000 award recognizes the achievements of visual artists or collaborators in mid-atlantic region

Posted 02.25.10 by mica media relations

Leah Cooper '09, drawing 1, iterating the ordinary

BALTIMORE--The Baltimore Office of Promotion & The Arts (BOPA) announced April 13 the seven finalists for the fifth annual Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize, one of the most prestigious arts awards in the mid-Atlantic region, and five of the finalists are members of the MICA community. There are 24 visual artists or collaborators with MICA connections among the 38 who on Feb. 24 were named semifinalists for the award. The winner will be announced July 10 at Artscape.

Organized by BOPA  in conjunction with Artscape, the $25,000 prize recognizes the achievements of visual artists or visual artist collaborators living or working in Maryland, Washington, D.C., Northern Virginia and Southeastern Pennsylvania. This year's contest drew 290 entries.

The seven finalists, who will have their work displayed at The Baltimore Museum of Art June 19-Aug. 1, are Leah Cooper '09 (M.F.A. in Studio Art) and staff member; Ryan Hackett; Matthew Janson '09 (Mount Royal School of Art); Nate Larson (faculty in photography); Christopher LaVoie '08 (Rinehart School of Sculpture); Matthew Porterfield; and Karen Yasinsky (faculty in animation).
READ: Baltimore Sun reports on the finalists, noting several MICA connections.

MICA alumni have won the award for the previous four years. In 2009, Baltimore Development Cooperative, founded by MICA alumni Scott Berzofsky '05 (painting), Dane Nester '05 (painting) and Nicholas Wisniewski '04 (painting), won the $25,000. MICA graduate Geoff Grace '03 '04 (general fine arts, M.A.T.) won the 2008 prize for his work, it's the linger, not the long. The 2007 prize was awarded to MICA faculty Tony Shore '93 (painting) and the 2006 inaugural winner was Laure Drogoul '81 (Rinehart School of Sculpture).

The 2010 JANET & WALTER SONDHEIM ARTSCAPE PRIZE SEMIFINALISTS (those in the MICA community are bold):

  • Alzaruba '90 (Mount Royal School of Art)
  • Christine Bailey '03 (Mount Royal School of Art)
  • Kathryn Bell
  • Amita Bhatt '09 (Hoffberger School of Painting)
  • Travis Childers '00 (Mount Royal School of Art)
  • Leah Cooper '09 (M.F.A. in Studio Art) and staff member
  • Brent Crothers '89 '03 (sculpture, Rinehart School of Sculpture)
  • Oletha Devane '73 (general fine arts)
  • Annie Farrar '04 (painting)
  • Shaun Flynn '01 (general fine arts)
  • Dawn Gavin
  • Breon Gilleran '81 (painting)
  • Amy Glengary Yang
  • Ryan Hackett
  • Michelle Hagewood '02 (general fine arts)
  • Matthew Janson '09 (Mount Royal School of Art)
  • Evan La Londe '03 '04 (general fine arts, M.A.T.)
  • Nate Larson (faculty in photography)
  • Christopher LaVoie '08 (Rinehart School of Sculpture)
  • Lawrence Lee '10 (Mount Royal School of Art)
  • Kim Manfredi '88 '09 (painting, Hoffberger School of Painting)
  • Ben Marcin
  • Christina Martinelli '10 (Rinehart School of Sculpture)
  • Sebastian Martorana '08 (Rinehart School of Sculpture)
  • Alexa Meade
  • Maggie Michael
  • Ledelle Moe (chair of interdisciplinary sculpture)
  • Cory Oberndorfer
  • Matthew Porterfield
  • Siobhan Rigg
  • Michael Sylvan Robinson
  • Rachel Rotenberg
  • Adam T. Rush
  • Christopher Saah '06 (M.F.A. in Photographic & Electronic Media)
  • Hadieh Shafie (director of the Joseph Meyerhoff Center for Career Development)
  • Dan Steinhilber
  • Melissa Webb '96 (fiber)
  • Karen Yasinsky (faculty in animation)




























Lee and Martinelli, both candidates for M.F.A. degrees, will exhibit their work at MICA during this spring's M.F.A. Thesis III exhibition, April 23-May 2.

Approximately six Sondheim Prize finalists will be selected, and an exhibition of their work will be shown at the Baltimore Museum of Art, June 19-Aug. 1. An exhibition of the remaining semifinalists' work will be shown in MICA's Decker and Meyerhoff galleries July 16-Aug. 1, coinciding with the 2010 Artscape, which takes place July 16-18 along Mount Royal Avenue and North Charles Street.

Judges for this year's prize are Robert Nickas, a New York-based curator; Magdalena Sawon, owner and director of Postmasters Gallery in New York; and Hamza Walker, director of education and associate curator of the Renaissance Society at The University of Chicago.

Photo caption: Leah Cooper '09, drawing 1, iterating the ordinary: site-responsive drawings, 2009.

Founded in 1826, Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA) is the oldest continuously degree-granting college of art and design in the nation. The College enrolls nearly 3,500 undergraduate, graduate and continuing studies students from 49 states and 52 countries in fine arts, design, electronic media, art education, liberal arts, and professional studies degree and non-credit programs. With art and design programs ranked in the top ten by U.S. News and World Report, MICA is pioneering interdisciplinary approaches to innovation, research, and community and social engagement. Alumni and programming reach around the globe, even as MICA remains a cultural cornerstone in the Baltimore/Washington region, hosting hundreds of exhibitions and events annually by students, faculty and other established artists.