facebook pixel

Students, staff & faculty can login to access personalized content.

Parent & Guardian Access is located here.

Please enter your login info

Forgot your password?

[Skip to Content]

MICA Community Members Included Among Louis Comfort Tiffany Artist Grant Winners

Four members of the MICA Community are listed with other visual artists for the prestigious award

Posted 02.23.12 by MICA Communications

The Louis Comfort Tiffany Foundation announced 30 recipients of its 17th biennial grants to American contemporary artists. Each grant is $20,000 and is awarded to visual artists working in the fields of installation, sculpture, craft media, photography, video and painting.

The foundation was established by Louis Comfort Tiffany in 1918 to operate his Laurelton Hall estate in Long Island, as a summer retreat for young artists and craftspeople. Tiffany, the son of the founder of Tiffany & Co., was a painter and innovator in the design of glass objects and windows. After the sale of the estate in 1946, the foundation's mission changed to awarding grants to artists who are nominated by selection from art professionals.

The winners include the Genevieve McMillian/Reba Stewart chair in painting Mequitta AhujaRinehart School of Sculpture Graduate Director Maren HassingerLauren Kelley '97 (general fine arts), former faculty member Michael Rakowitz  and Anna Shteynshleyger '99 (photography).

For more information and a complete list of the winners, visit the Art in America website.