facebook pixel

Students, staff & faculty can login to access personalized content.

Parent & Guardian Access is located here.

Please enter your login info

Forgot your password?

[Skip to Content]

Relive Your Childhood!

Caldecott Medal Winners

Posted 06.02.14 by Allison Fischbach

Hat image

Most of us probably remember our favorite book from childhood. Was it something popular, like Where the Wild Things Are? Or was it something obscure that caught your eye? (Anyone read Witches Four?) Either way, it was probably full of illustrations that you loved just as much, if not more, than the story. Children's books are rife with eye-catching original illustrations that bring the stories to life, and are works of art in their own right.

This summer, the Decker Library is celebrating children's literature by featuring Caldecott Medal Winners from 1938 to 2014. The Caldecott is named in honor of 19th century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott and is awarded annually by the American Library Association to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Caldecott books stand out thanks to the bright gold seal on their covers. Winners include classics such as The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg, The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick, and Madeline's Rescue by Ludwig Bemelmans.

Older medal winners include 1963's The Snowy Day by acclaimed illustrator Ezra Jack Keats and 1942's Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey, but the first medal was awarded to Dorothy P. Lathrop's Animals of the Bible. The detailed black and white sketches in Lathrop's work are a far cry from the color and excitement of the most recent winner, Brian Floca's Locomotive.

So over the next few months, while you're taking a break from study, take a look through children's book history. Something might jog your memory, and jog your inspiration.

More illustrated children's book can be found under call numbers PZ 7 and PZ 8 in both the Quarto and Stacks sections of the library. For assistance, please visit the Reference Desk on the lower level. For details about the Caldecott Medal and a list of winners, please visit the ALA website.

June 2 - August 29, 2014
Curated by Allison Fischbach

Circulation policy for books on exhibit:
Circulating books on display in the museum cases are available for check out any time during the week. Please see a staff member at the circulation desk to request a book from the cases. Titles, when available, may be checked out at any time from the MRC.

For books on display from the Special Collections (Cage), please see a reference librarian.

Image information:
This Page: from the 2013 winner, This is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen, PZ 7 .K678146 T4 2012 Stacks
Thumbnail: from 1982 winner Jumanji by Chris Van Allsburg, PZ 7 .V26 J Stacks



  Facebook Icon   Twitter Icon   Tumblr Icon