facebook pixel

Students, staff & faculty can login to access personalized content.

Parent & Guardian Access is located here.

Please enter your login info

Forgot your password?

[Skip to Content]

Alumni Score Big at Adobe Design Achievement Awards

Four alumni recognized as promising artists, designers using Adobe

Posted 10.24.11 by MICA communications

Four recently graduated alumni--Andrew Mangold, Josh Hepworth, Anthony Mattox and Ryan LeCluyse--won awards at the annual Adobe Design Achievement Awards (ADAA). An awards ceremony was held in Taipei, Taiwan, in collaboration with Icograda (International Council of Graphic Design Associations). The awards honor the most talented and promising student graphic designers, photographers, illustrators, animators, digital filmmakers, developers and computer artists from higher education institutions worldwide who have created individual or group projects with Adobe software, predominately using Adobe® Creative Suite® Master Collection products such as Photoshop®, Illustrator®, Premiere® Pro, After Effects®, Flash® and Flash Builder®. Ryan Shelley and Elizabeth Herrmann, both '11, were named semifinalists.

  • Browser-Based DesignAndrew Mangold '11 and Josh Hepworth '11, “Crowdstorms”
  • Game DesignAnthony Mattox '11, “Orbit;” Mattox was also a winner in 2010.
  • PhotographyRyan LeCluyse '11,“REBU!LD;” learn more about his project in the Urbanite magazine write up.






Winning entries can be viewed at the ADAA Gallery, along with the entries of the finalists from 2011 and prior years. The work of the 2011 finalists is also being showcased October 22-30 in a special gallery as part of the Taipei World Design Expo. This year’s winners were selected by a global panel of industry judges based on originality, effectiveness in meeting the communication objective, and contestant(s) skills in applying Adobe products. Faculty entries were judged on educational innovation in teaching impact and the development of applications to better an overall educational administrative or curricular experience for the students and public they serve.

Judges include: John Bielenberg (United States), professor, California College of the Arts in San Francisco; Liz Danzico (United States), chair of MFA in Interaction Design Program, School of Visual Arts; Meredith Davis (United States), director of graduate programs, graphic design at College of Design, North Carolina State University; Anthony Dunne (United Kingdom), head of design interactions department, Royal College of Art in London; Juan-Carlos Fernandez (Canada), creative director/founder, Ideograma Consultores; Gillian Crampton Smith (Italy), founder and director of the Interaction Design Programme, IAUV University of Venice; Troy Innocent (Australia), program convenor, games & interactivity, Swinburne University of Technology; Apex Lin (Taiwan), vice president, National Taiwan Normal University; Kees Overbeeke (Netherlands), professor, Eindhoven University of Technology; Dean Poole (New Zealand), creative director, Alt Group; Viebke Sorensen (Singapore), professor and chair of the School of Art, Design, and Media, Nanyang Technological University; Ellen Wagner (United States), partner and principal analyst, Sage Road Solutions; Hugh Dubberly (United States), Dubberly Design Office; and Toby Curnow (New Zealand), design director at Alt Group. View judges’ commentary on the 2011 Adobe Design Achievement Awards at www.2011.adaagallery.com.

Individual winners and leaders of the group category winners received a US$3,000 cash prize, winner’s certificate and trophy, round-trip airfare to Taipei, and lodging during the 2011 IDA Congress. Additionally, individual winners received a copy of Adobe Creative Suite 5.5 Master Collection software; group winners each received his/her choice of Creative Suite 5.5 Design Premium, Creative Suite 5.5 Web Premium or Creative Suite 5.5 Production Premium education version software. Student individual winners and leaders of the group category are appointed to the Icograda Youth Advisory Panel and receive a one-year mentorship with a design leader from the Icograda network.