Student Voice Association

The Student Voice Association (SVA) advocates for the interests and needs of the student community at MICA. SVA serves as a liaison between students, administrators, faculty, and staff promoting a culture of transparency, inclusion, and collaboration. 

SVA is currently holding elections for the following positions: Undergraduate Student Body President, Communications Director, Vice President/Secretary/Membership Chair for the Undergraduate Academic Affairs and Student Life Councils.

Click HERE for complete position descriptions and an organization chart.

To run for these positions please complete THIS application by Monday, April 25 at 9 am.

Graduate Student Council

Overview

The SVA Graduate Student Council (GSC) is a student advocacy group that acts as a liasion between MICA's graduate population and the Office of Graduate Studies with a goal to improve and enhance the MICA graduate experience. Representatives from each graduate program meet monthly to discuss topics relevant to graduate education and student life.

Officers/Leaders

  • Demi Canty '16 Social Design
  • Mandy Chesney '17 Mount Royal School of Art
  • Maren Henson '17 Mount Royal School of Art

Meeting Info

Fall Meetings:

  • Wednesday, September 9, 2:30pm; Lazarus Center 109
  • Graduate Town Hall - Wednesday, October 7, 2:30pm; Lazarus Center Auditorium 
  • Wednesday, October 14, 2:30pm; Lazarus Center 109
  • Wednesday, November 11, 2:30pm; Lazarus Center 109
  • Wednesday, December 9, 2:30pm; Lazarus Center 109

Spring Meetings:

  • Wednesday, January 27, 2:30pm; Lazarus Center 109
  • Wednesday, February 17, 2:30pm; Lazarus Center 109
  • SVA Town Hall - Wednesday, March 9, 2:30pm; Lazarus Center Auditorium
  • Wednesday, April 6, 2:30pm; Lazarus Center 109
  • Wednesday, May 4, 2:30pm; Lazarus Center 109

Minutes

Committees

  • Graduate Exhibition Committee
  • Power and Equity Forum
  • Campus Safey Committee

Undergraduate Academic Affairs Council

Overview

The Undergraduate Academic Affairs Council oversees all topics affecting students' academic experience. In the past, this has included revising the content of course evaluations, advocating for an increase in building hours during finals, and creating a more equitable process for all majors submitting for competitive scholarships. 

Officers/Leaders

  • Stella Lee, President
  • Lo Ashford, Vice President
  • Jane Yeon, Secretary
  • McCallum Dickens, Marketing Coordinator

Meeting Info

Fall Meetings

  • Thursday, September 17, 12-1pm; Main 160
  • Thursday, October 8, 12-1pm; Main 160
  • Undergraduate Town Hall — Wednesday, October 28, 2:30-4pm; Leake Lecture Hall
  • Thursday, November 5, 12-1pm; Main 160
  • Thursday, December 3, 12-1pm; Main 160

Spring Meetings

  • Thursday, February 4, 12-1pm; Main 160
  • Thursday, March 3, 12-1pm; Main 160
  • SVA Town Hall - Wednesday, March 9, 2:30pm; Lazarus Center Auditorium
  • Thursday, March 31, 12-1pm; Main 160
  • Thursday, April 28, 12-1pm; Main 160

Minutes

Committees

  • TBD

Undergraduate Student Life Council

Overview

The Undergraduate Student Life Council oversees all topics affecting students outside of the classroom. In the past, this has included successfully advocating for better WiFi access in Leake Hall, meeting with the VP of Finance to promote more transparency with MICA's budget, improving timely warnings from Campus Safety, and increasing recycling options on campus.

Officers/Leaders

  • Karolina Bartosik, President
  • John Woods, Vice President
  • Cheng Qin, Marketing Coordinator
  • TBD, Secretary

Meeting Info

Fall Meetings

  • Tuesday, September 15, 12-1pm; M  160
  • Tuesday, October 6, 12-1pm; M 110
  • Undergraduate Town Hall - Wednesday, October 28, 2:30-4pm; Leake Lecture Hall
  • Tuesday, November 3, 12-1pm; M 110
  • Tuesday, December 1, 12-1pm; M 160

Spring Meetings

  • Tuesday, February 2, 12-1pm; Main 110
  • Tuesday, March 1, 12-1pm; Main 110
  • Joint Graduate & Undergraduate SVA Town Hall - Wednesday, March 9, 2:30pm; Falvey Hall, Brown Center
  • Tuesday, March 29, 12-1pm; Main 110
  • Tuesday, April 26, 12-1pm; Main 110

Minutes

Committees

  • Campus Safety
  • Community Involvement
  • Dining
  • Diversity & Inclusion
  • Housing
  • Sustainability
  • Transportation